Gayle, Sehwag, Afridi to play T10 league in UAE

Virender Sehwag, Chris Gayle, Shahid Afridi and Kumar Sangakkara will be part of the T10 league, named Ten Cricket League, in the UAE.

Team Punjabis, Team Pakhtoons, Team Maratha, Team Banglas, Team Lankans, Team Sindhis and Team Keralites are seven of the teams that will take part in the tournament.

Pakistan legend Afridi will lead Team Pakhtoons.

Habib Khan, owner of Pakhtoons, commented: "I am excited to have Shahid Afridi, one of the greatest cricketers ever, to lead my team and you will see Pakhtoons in full force."

The league will have 10-over-a-side match with 90 minutes of action, spread over four days.

The event will begin on December 21 and culminate on December 24 at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium.

Shaji-ul Mulk, president of TCL, said: "We are very excited about the concept of T10 as it brings cricket to the level of world sports of 90 minutes and fast-paced action. We all enjoy T20. Wait till you experience T10! We have based this league on a South Asian concept as we have a dominant south Asian, cricket crazy population in the UAE and GCC."

The auction will be held in the UAE.